adopttalkcanada.com

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

3/3/2015 - SMF was upgraded today.

Author Topic: Can anyone help with some information?  (Read 6545 times)

wewait

• View Profile
Can anyone help with some information?
« on: August 10, 2008, 10:53:36 AM »

Hello

Sort of new here ... & it's my first time posting.

Yesterday a situation of a birthmum wanting a private adoption was brought to our attention. (We're LID 11/06 China). We are the only prospective parents at this point and basically, a friend of a friend has come to us. The young woman has just recently made her decision and she is due in November.

We only recently relocated home to Canada and this has come to us as a huge surprise. We're hesitant, nervous and somewhat curious about the prospect of becoming parents (1st time) possibly so quickly and so differently than we have always assumed we would - through IA. We have more questions than anything else and we're hoping that someone on this Board might reply if they have any experience or knowledge of how PA works in Ontario. To this point, Private Adoption has not been an option for us and we know absolutely nothing about it.

Here are our questions:

1. How/will a private adoption affect our China adoption?

2. What's the process? We don't have an adoption lawyer yet (haven't needed one).

2a. How do we even begin ... at this point, it's been a discussion with us and a discussion with birth mum & grandmother by the 'facilitator/friend'?

3. What are the rights of the birth mum / father (who we've been told doesn't want anything to do with the situation)? extended birth family (who have already been asked if they want child but no one is able to take baby at this point)?

4. How long does it take to finalize a private adoption? (I suppose we're worried about birth mum changing her mind ...)